PAST EVENTS

Mental Health Awareness Month! We will be holding the following events May 2021 at http://Bit.ly/3xA7vTv (password: SAMSA)

Patient Mental Health Panel
Date: May 8th, 4PM CST/ 2PM PST/ 5PM EST

Research Discussion about South Asian Sexual Abuse Survivors with Ms. Thanusha Neelapareddy, Clinical Psychology Doctoral Student
Date: May 20th, 7:30PM CST/ 5:30PM PST/8:30PM EST

Mental Health in Bollywood
Date: May 27th, 8PM CST/6PM PST/9PM EST


Establishing Confidence and Boundaries with Ms. Ayushi Acharya, Certified Therapist on May 4th

MARCH 26th, 1-2PM Anti-Bias Initiative Lunch Hour Focus Group

Our brand new SAMSA committee will be working on a longitudinal curriculum — more details to come soon!

FEBRUARY 15, 2021: Be The Match Virtual Event

Our virtual event on February 15 from 7PM- 8PM EST, where Dr. Ron Jacob discussed the impact of blood stem cell / marrow donors in South Asian communities. Everyone is welcome!

Recording below:

October 26, 2020: M4 Medical School Advice Panel

10 SAMSA fourth-year medical students from all over the country gave medical students advice on popular topics, including research, residency applications, and studying for boards, as well as individual specific questions. Check our information about our panelists here and the recording of the session above!

June 30, 2020: hosted by Indiaspora: Town Hall with Vivek Murthy

SAMSA members were invited to an exclusive Town Hall with former Surgeon General Dr. Vivek Murthy hosted by Indiaspora. He spoke about his recent book “Together” and on the topic of loneliness in our modern world. Dr. Murthy emphasized the importance of wellbeing for medical students and professionals. SAMSA founder, Akanksha Srivastava (M2) asked a thoughtful question on the role social media plays in facilitating and exacerbating loneliness. Watch the video to see Dr. Murthy’s answer!

August 9, 2020: Uprooting Anti-Blackness in the South Asian Community 

The South Asian Awareness Network (SAAN) chapters at the University of Michigan and Michigan State University are hosting an event titled “Uprooting Anti-Blackness in the South Asian Community” on August 9th at 4:00 PM EST. Register here.